January 8, 2018 | Press Release

- Key GOP Officials Continue to Unify Behind Hagedorn’s Candidacy -

Blue Earth, Minnesota – The Friends of Hagedorn Committee today released an additional list of key Republican Party officials and Members of Congress who have endorsed Jim Hagedorn’s campaign for Congress in Minnesota’s First Congressional District.

The new First District Republican Party County Chair and Deputy Chair supporters include:

  • Greg Berger – Rock County Chair
  • Ryan Brinks – Jackson County Deputy Chair
  • Otto Luknic – Rice County Deputy Chair
  • Jack Zimmerman – Le Sueur County Deputy Chair

With these additions, GOP Chairs and Deputy Chairs representing 16 of the First District’s 21 counties have endorsed Hagedorn. “We are thrilled to have earned the support of these hard-working Republican Party leaders and look forward to campaigning with them,” said Campaign Manager David FitzSimmons.

The additional U.S. Congressmen who have endorsed Hagedorn include:

  • Rep. Bill Shuster (PA-09) – Chairman, House Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure
  • Rep. Tom Cole (OK-04)
  • Rep. Rodney Davis (IL-13)
  • Rep. Darin LaHood (IL-18)

“The endorsement of these respected Members of the U.S. House of Representatives boosts our efforts to unify the Republican Party, maintain our full-time campaign across all 21 counties of the First District and spread our campaign’s core message of standing up for the conservative solutions that accurately reflect the views and values of southern Minnesotans,” stated FitzSimmons.

Hagedorn has now been endorsed by seven current Members of Congress. A full list of the prominent national, state and districtwide Republicans who have endorsed Hagedorn’s candidacy is attached.

In the 2016 election, Hagedorn received 49.6% of the vote against six-term incumbent Democrat Tim Walz, who is not seeking re-election to Congress. Minnesota’s First District is considered the best pickup opportunity in the country for U.S. House Republicans.

# # #

Jim Hagedorn is honored to be endorsed by these distinguished national, state and districtwide GOP officials and activists.

Members of U.S. Congress

  • Congressman Tom Emmer (MN-06)
  • Congressman Frank Lucas (OK-03)
  • Congressman Glenn “GT” Thompson (PA-03)
  • Congressman Rodney Davis (IL-13)
  • Congressman Darin LaHood (IL-18)
  • Congressman Tom Cole (OK-4)
  • Congressman Bill Shuster (PA-09)

Former Members of the U.S. Senate

  • U.S. Senator Rudy Boschwitz (MN)
  • U.S. Senator Steve Symms (ID)

Former Members of U.S. Congress

  • Congressmen Gil Gutknecht (MN-01)
  • Congressman John Kline (MN-02)
  • Congressman Vin Weber (MN-02 & 06)

Minnesota State Legislators

  • State Senator Julie Rosen (Vernon Center)
  • State Senator Bill Weber (Luverne)
  • State Senator Rich Draheim (Madison Lake)
  • State Representative Bob Gunther (Fairmont)
  • State Representative Bob Vogel (Elko New Market)

Former First District Republican Party Chairs

  • Carol Stevenson, North Mankato, MN
  • Steve Perkins (formerly of Luverne, MN)
  • Kim Hummel, Jackson, MN
  • Dave Kruse, Mankato, MN

Former Second District Republican Party Chairs

  • Neal Breitbarth, Truman, MN

First District Republican Party County Chairs

  • Jerry Groebner, Blue Earth County Deputy Chair
  • Greg Bartz, Brown County Chair
  • William Erickson, Faribault County Co-Chair
  • Gary Steuart, Fillmore County Chair
  • Jason Reiland, Houston County Chair
  • Ryan Brinks, Jackson County Deputy Chair
  • Jack Zimmerman, Le Sueur County Deputy Chair
  • Rochelle Krusemark, Martin County Co-Chair
  • Neal Breitbarth, Martin County Co-Chair
  • Peter Trocke, Nicollet County Chair
  • Rod Sankey, Nobles County Chair
  • Greg Gallas, Olmsted County Deputy Chair
  • Otto Luknic, Rice County Deputy Chair
  • Greg Berger, Rock County Chair
  • Sue Jirele, Waseca County Co-Chair
  • Taylor Zinkle, Waseca County Co-Chair
  • Paul Lenz, Watonwan County Chair
  • James Doerr, Winona County Chair